First, you’ll need to know what gluten actually is. Gluten is a binding protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten is found in many foods, primarily those made from wheat and grains like bread, pasta, cereal, and baked goods. However, gluten is also found in a variety of foods that you wouldn’t expect. Due to its binding properties, it is often used as a thickener in a variety of products. It can also be found in certain alcohols that use fermented grains.
Despite the widespread use of gluten in foods, once you know what to look for when shopping, you can easily switch to a gluten-free diet. While food manufacturers are not required to label gluten in foods, many choose to voluntarily label their gluten-free options. If you are unsure if a food is gluten-free, bring along a cheat-sheet with you to the grocery store or restaurant so you double-check any products you buy. After a while, you’ll become familiar with your options and eating gluten-free will feel natural.
The biggest difficulty in eating gluten-free is packaged food and snacks. Most whole foods, like produce and meat, are naturally gluten-free. But packaged foods can often be difficult to figure out. Additionally, when you go gluten-free, you will need to have your own packaged snacks on hand in case you can’t find an easy gluten-free option. Luckily, companies have begun to produce more gluten-free packaged options so you won’t have to go hungry. If you’re looking for a healthy energy bar, check out our Fruit Fusion bars. Available in three flavors, Fruit Fusion bars are gluten-free, as well as low-calorie, vegan and lactose-free. They’re a great starting point for your gluten-free journey.